Discussion Forums

Duo won't connect via BLE

I’m completely new to working with the Duo, and only fairly familiar with Arduinos. I’m running the Duo off of Arduino IDE, and I set up all the drivers to get it connected. On Arduino IDE, I installed the RedBear Duo version 0.2.10 under board manager. When I look up the Duo board’s firmware (using ‘v’), it says 0.2.4. I downloaded the dfu-util as well, and used the “burn bootloader” successfully on the board.

The main use out of this board is to get the BLE connected. I do not understand what’s wrong with it–I was able to get the blink example working while plugged into the computer. I have the BLE controller app on my phone, but it doesn’t pick up anything from the Duo. My phone detects the Duo when I scan for bluetooth, but after trying to connect it says “unable to connect with Duo”.

Results from running BLEScanner:
32+0 records in
32+0 records out
32 bytes (32 B) copied, 0.006 seconds, 5.3 kB/s
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4 bytes (4 B) copied, 0.006 seconds, 0.7 kB/s

Sketch uses 4,760 bytes (1%) of program storage space. Maximum is 262,144 bytes.
Found programmer: Id = “RBL-DUO”; type = S
Software Version = 1.0; Hardware Version = 1.0
Programmer supports buffered memory access with buffersize=64 bytes.

There is an error line in SimpleBLEController. After commenting it out, this is the result of running that example:
Build options changed, rebuilding all
32+0 records in
32+0 records out
32 bytes (32 B) copied, 0.006 seconds, 5.3 kB/s
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4 bytes (4 B) copied, 0.005 seconds, 800 B/s

Sketch uses 5,928 bytes (2%) of program storage space. Maximum is 262,144 bytes.
Found programmer: Id = “RBL-DUO”; type = S
Software Version = 1.0; Hardware Version = 1.0
Programmer supports buffered memory access with buffersize=64 bytes.

Does anybody know how to fix this?? I’ve tried connecting via bluetooth on my laptop as well, it’s the same “unable to connect” response.

0.2.4 is the version I use.