Question about Advertising and Disconnecting

Hi all,

I’m new to the BLE ecosystem, and I’ve slightly edited the provided HRM demo in the Arduino IDE to send analog input values to the nRF toolbox app on my phone. Eventually, I want to make the device run on a battery instead of hooking it up to a power supply. The issue is that when I select disconnect on my phone, the Nano v2 stays in the periodicCallback() function, and doesn’t exit. How do I make it so that when I disconnect from the Nano v2, that it stops sending data, advertising and scanning? This is important because I’d like to only gather data from the device for a minute every hour, so it doesn’t need to be advertising and scanning for the entire time.

Thanks.

Hi,

are you shure that is not the ticker?

Hi,

thanks for the reply. I guess it could be, but do you mind explaining what the ticker does, and how I would change it to address the issue i’m having?

Hi @Manny,

We can not address the issue unless you post your code here.

Correct. Here is the code I’ve been using. It is just a modified version of the HRM demo. Instead of sending HRM data, it sends temperature recorded from an external source.

/*
 * Copyright (c) 2016 RedBear
 * Permission is hereby granted, free of charge, to any person obtaining a copy of this software and associated documentation files (the "Software"),
 * to deal in the Software without restriction, including without limitation the rights to use, copy, modify, merge, publish, distribute, sublicense,
 * and/or sell copies of the Software, and to permit persons to whom the Software is furnished to do so, subject to the following conditions:
 * The above copyright notice and this permission notice shall be included in all copies or substantial portions of the Software.
 * THE SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS", WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY,